New Liverpool boat

Roughchippy

Featured Posts

Hi,

we are looking to buy a 57 ft  semi trad sailaway or part lined we have looked at other companies and Liverpool boats seem very competitive on price We would appreciate any advice?

I am a carpenter and would like to finish the boat and use it as a live aboard has anyone bought from them as a part lined?

many thanks

This is very much a personal opinion but having hired a couple of Liverpool Boats I found they didn't handle as well as many others and i got the impression the hull shape was fairly unrefined. Having said that may be as a liveaboard that may not be top of your list of priorities.

The cost of the boat is made up of two main components, steel and labour, the price of the steel will be pretty much identical between manufacturers - the quality of the 'labour' element is variable.

Also ensure you are comparing 'like-for-like', is one manufacturer offering 'thicker' steel ?

Are Liverpool boats 'still going' ? I thought the employees had set up a new company.

Historically Liverpool boats were produced for the 'economy' end of the market and it has been known that they are produced over-width (so will not fit thru all locks), and have been produced 'bent' (banana shaped) and again will not fit thru all locks.

You could probably say they are the 'Peugeot /Renault' of he boat world - functional but not 'good quality'.

1 hour ago, Alan de Enfield said:

Are Liverpool boats 'still going' ? I thought the employees had set up a new company.

I don't think so.

Liverpool Boats simply stopped building boats, but did not go bust.   It remained a dormant company, (may still be?).

The same owners started trading again as Collingwood.  No collapse, no buyout, no takeover I think.

Happy to be proved wrong though.

(I've no idea why my posts are getting odd line spacings!)

Edited by alan_fincher

15 minutes ago, Murflynn said:

were you a Top Gear fan ?? :rolleyes: