Webasto 90st with a 60 a day habit

davids3511

Featured Posts

I'm not using it in a boat. I'm a window/commercial cleaner by trade and recently purchased a 3 year old cleaning system that includes a Webasto 90st. It heast a coolant tank which in turn heats the water we use to clean buildings/windows/solar panels/clading etc.

It behaved perfectly until one day the batteries ran out of charge, I though I'd get more then two days from 2x Numax 120Ah batteries wired in parallel but no. I noticed the smoke first before the water pumps died. Since then its smoked on and off. It will run ok for a few hours and then it'll look like the van is on fire. Some days it smokes from the first moment, other days it is fine for 6 hours then its smoking again.

I've had it out and checked it over. The burner looks in good shape, a minimum of coking. The oval hole in the bottom of it where the glow pin passes underneath was almost coked over though. I cleared that thinking it would resolve the problem and it did for a day but then it was back. Today I've connected it to a known good battery and it ran fine for about an hour but then the smoke started. Not awful but at times it was quite heavy. Not being a boater I dont have a network of people who I can trust to look at this thing and not replace stuff that doesn't need replacing. Any ideas on what might be wrong? I've also siphoned out all the fuel and filled again from another source just in case of water in the diesel. Any help gratefully received.

webasto.jpg

Edited by davids3511

Have you checked the temperature sensor? If the sensor has been used in fresh water without corrosion inhibitors they VERY quickly corrode and will cause intermitent burning before eventualy failing as they short out. Easily unscrewed at top of unit and  replaced.

14 minutes ago, mrsmelly said: