Boat price register comparing advertised/realized prices

Mick in Bangkok

Featured Posts

Good morning everyone,

Like a few other form members I am currently following boat prices as I am considering a live aboard retirement option and trying to become acquainted with what is available within my budget.

My limited venture into this exercise indicates that newer boats tend to sell quickest at near to asking price whereas older boats are not so much in demand and vintage boats and/or older boats with vintage engines tend to hang around longer and sell for less that originally advertised for.

I also note that it has been suggested that a register/thread on prices listed compared to prices realized might be a good addition to the forum, however as a newbie I would like to hear from the experienced boat owners if this might be a welcome addition to the forum or would it be considered as praying into boat owners private financial affairs.

Cheers Mick

4 hours ago, Mick in Bangkok said:

vintage boats and/or older boats with vintage engines tend to hang around longer and sell for less that originally advertised for.

Is this so? If it is, I suspect that the trend will soon be going in the other direction: because new regulations make it almost impossible to install a vintage engine in a newly built boat, the supply of such craft is finite, so there will be fewer boats available to fill the demand, so prices are likely to rise.

1 hour ago, Athy said:

Is this so? If it is, I suspect that the trend will soon be going in the other direction: because new regulations make it almost impossible to install a vintage engine in a newly built boat, the supply of such craft is finite, so there will be fewer boats available to fill the demand, so prices are likely to rise.