Residential Mooring advice needed!

xxmarypoppinsxx

Featured Posts

Hello!

I'm a newbie here so please be gentle!

My husband and I are planning to purchase a narrowboat in 2020 and live aboard, we are in our 30's and will be edging into our forties when we move aboard and will be purchasing a new or newish boat and funding this with marine finance (obvs we're saving like crazy to have a decent deposit ready, at least 25%)

We are avidly reading anything and everything to do with boating and the pros and cons of this and due to us doing this with the finance option, we will have to find at least a part time stable job for the first 10yrs of our venture.

I digress,

I have many burning questions about everything but to get to the subject of this post, how do I go about getting on waiting lists for residential moorings?? Hubs and I are not bothered where we are be it N/S/E or West as long as there's some kind of work nearby we don't mind (not picky about jobs either), but it seems so hard to find residential and more importantly, how to get on waiting lists, also, trying not to miss out on any places due to the chaotic nature of being able to find places with residential moorings!

We aren't fussy, in fact, we don't care if we have to walk to empty the loo etc, all we want is access to a bus stop or train station to the nearest town to get to work..

Anyway, any help would be marvellous!

thanks and look forward to chatting on here lots more over the coming months/years until the dream becomes reality!

Esther :) (also hubby Dean)

wow speedy replies!

I'd suggest you buy the WaterWay (cant remember if it's the WaterWorld mag...on shelves in WHSmith). Lots of adverts for marinas.

Phone them.

Sign something.

Get on a list ?

thanks for the speedy reply!