Opinions on a boat

KVico

Featured Posts

17 minutes ago, KVico said:

I thought I might have got away without a survey since it's only 2004

Sadly, even a 2015 boat could have serious hull issues. It's unlikely but still possible. 

You could do without a survey and be lucky - many folk do just that. On the other hand...

I quite like the first one, seems little used, has no heating that I can see though, no obvious signs of damp, discoloured ply etc. its all down to the details, figures and hull condition really, I'm not good at valuing things but it seems pretty good to me.

15 minutes ago, Bee said:

I quite like the first one, seems little used, has no heating that I can see though.

The description states "diesel central heating", and radiators are visible on several of the photographs.

2 minutes ago, Rob-M said:

You could always try a cheeky offer and see what happens.

I'd try just being honest. "I love your boat and whilst I think the price is reasonable I only have £x. Would you accept that?"

2 minutes ago, Rob-M said:

You could always try a cheeky offer and see what happens.

I have been wondering what the etiquette around making offers is... I have never done anything like this, bought a car or house or anything so I'm unsure...

At least a hull survey on any boat you buy is,in my opinion, a must.

The first one looks a potentially nice boat. Nicely fitted out. It's had a stove so could easily be installed I guess. No curtains. All adds to the cost.

a bit of TLC as mentioned in the advert would make a pleasant boat. Price suspect. Considering work required.

Martyn

I guess it wouldn't hurt to point out some negatives whilst making your offer. 

1 minute ago, KVico said:

I have been wondering what the etiquette around making offers is... I have never done anything like this, bought a car or house or anything so I'm unsure...