Fitting outboard motor to Fjord 30

jakethepeg

Featured Posts

I am very new to this, and probably my question will be proof of that! I have been offered a Fjord 30 moored in the southern end of the Canal du Midi. It has 2 engines, one working , the other seized, and is dirt cheap!!. I would only wish to use it on canals/inland waterways, and wondered if it would be feasible to build a transom board and mount an outboard motor of approx. 35hp, and if so what other mods would be needed, ie remove original props to reduce drag, fit  morse controls. I have built 2 wooden boats from scratch and recently renovated a Citroen DS21, so feel I have the skill set to do it, but not the experience to know if is a sensible move. Thanks in advance for your input

I would as you say remove the prop and rudder as not needed and hold it back a little. It would be easy to make an outboard bracket.  Either beef up the transom or make and bolt on a stand off type. 

Are you looking to keep it on the French waterways, or, bring it over to use it on the UK canals ?

If the latter, you may find that the beam (10 foot) and draft (3 foot) are not particularly suitable for much of the 'system', and, depending on model, the air-draft (up to 12 foot) could be problematic.

You would also need to look at the 'toilet system' as many of them were built with sea-toilets - if using it on UK waters then you would need to fit a black-water tank, suitable toilet and pump-out system.

To be realistic I doubt you could easily convert a twin-engine to a 'single', you would have to move the engine to the 'centre-line' of the boat, make new engine bearers, move and adapt the 'drive system' (is it on legs or shafts ?) etc etc.

It would (probably) be cheaper, quicker and simpler to repair the faulty engine.

If you could explain what your boating intentions & budget are maybe folks could advise on suitable, cost effective alternatives.