Boat Buying Checklist - HELP!

Holly Lacey

Featured Posts

Hi all,

Was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on what to look for when buying your first boat.

I've been doing my own research since September 2016, and am now in the position to start my hunt for the right boat.

I'm ideally after a 40-45ft, don't have a huge budget but am looking for something livable that I could do a little work on over the years.

When it comes to actually viewing the boat, what are the key questions to ask, and what are the main things I'll need to make sure the boat has to be able to live aboard full-time at a marina?

I don't want to end up with a money-pit, so am trying to gather as much advice a possible!

Any help is massively appreciated!!

Thanks,

Holly

Don't take this the wrong way.... but....

Only you can decide what is "liveable" and what constitutes "a little work"

Some on here that would claim that a steel shell, a sleeping bag, a bucket of water and a bucket of "not water" would match up perfectly with that description.

Others will take it to mean a perfectly finished floating apartment with every mod-con where the "little work" translates as needing to buy some cushions to match the interior.

Edited by Jess--
  • Greenie 1

You need to consider your basics.

1) How will you heat the boat in winter? Possibly using electricity in which case you need to ensure the marina supply bollard is 16A if only a few amps it will not keep you warm. A solid fuel stove is good, but does the marina have any policy on smoke from a wood burner.

2) Does the marina allow living on board? If officially 'no' but they turn a blind eye to it then you can not use the marina as a postal address. If they do not allow living on board you will need to find what they require you to do. For example take the boat out every week for say 36hours, in which case you need a boat with adequate electric power to support your cruising lifestyle.