Featured Posts

Hi Boaters!

I am four months in to the lovely world of boating and I have been grappling with my engine not starting for a few months. After eliminating the battery, I realised the reason it wasnt turning over was because the solenoid wasnt connecting to the starter motor. I can now start it if I lift the whole floor up and spark it with a spanner.

I am now trying to find out what part I need to get so that I can turn my engine on with the key, and nothing I type into the interweb seems to be right.

My engine is BMC 1.8L

The starter motor is LUCAS 198, b790 12V ER (that's everything written on it)

The solenoid I cant see anything written on it.

Do I need a new 'connector' between starter and soenoid?

Do I need a new solenoid althogether? Is there a standard model?

Any advice or nudges in the right direction would be great, kind of determined to see this one to the end myself!

Best,

Iona Moaner and the Empire Queen

Hi Boaters!

I am four months in to the lovely world of boating and I have been grappling with my engine not starting for a few months. After eliminating the battery, I realised the reason it wasnt turning over was because the solenoid wasnt connecting to the starter motor. I can now start it if I lift the whole floor up and spark it with a spanner.

I am now trying to find out what part I need to get so that I can turn my engine on with the key, and nothing I type into the interweb seems to be right.

My engine is BMC 1.8L

The starter motor is LUCAS 198, b790 12V ER (that's everything written on it)

The solenoid I cant see anything written on it.

Do I need a new 'connector' between starter and soenoid?

Do I need a new solenoid althogether? Is there a standard model?

Any advice or nudges in the right direction would be great, kind of determined to see this one to the end myself!

Best,

Iona Moaner and the Empire Queen