Tardebigge to York

Heavyhead

Featured Posts

We are about to undertake this journey, I can see the route will take us up the Trent, is there any info or advice I should be reading or listening to?

I'm not very experienced(2 canal holidays and two weeks bringing boat from Aylesbury) but got common sense, and I'm not a risk taker!

The boat is in good order, and am confident of its condition( will I regret saying that) !

Any comments will be most welcome

Thx

You may want to get these charts, for the Trent (tidal from Cromwell near Newark to Keadby, most people do this in two or even three hops) and the Ouse (tidal from Selby towards York).

Both are quite tricky rivers, in parts. But with planning, an understanding of tide times, and a clean fuel tank - most important - manageable in a NB. I am also a fan of marine VHF radio, and of lifejackets.

There's the start of a checklist here, of things you need to think about and then take appropriate action (eg buy more chain for your anchor).

Clean the bottom of your fuel tank by using a vacuum pump to remove any water and sludge which will block your filters if disturbed by excess movement. I used a wet vacuum and a thin pipe into a bottle to see what you remove. Wait for a neap tide (small) to exit Selby. Turn before the lock and stem the tide to make entering both Kedby and Selby.

You should try to avoid the big tides on the lower Trent and the Ouse above Selby for the seven days from Friday 16 to Thursday 22 September, and as you don't know whether or not the boat is up to prolonged periods of running at or near full power, you should also take every opportunity to run at full power between locks on the upper reaches of the river from Derwent Mouth to Cromwell.

If any problems do show up, then either get them fixed before going any further or get a train from Newark for a day out in York.

Hi and thx for your responses, tank was sorted after we broke down 3 hrs after picking our boat up!!