Should we buy this boat?

KimES

Featured Posts

Hi,

I'm a newbie after some expert opinions... After dreaming about it for 7 years, my husband and I are finally buying our first narrowboat and becoming continuous cruisers.

We have fallen in love with a 54ft Springer, but it's quite run down and we're worried it could too much for a pair of newbies to renovate.

The plan would be to buy now with the aim of completing all the essential work and moving on board by September. We do have some funds to make significant repairs but I wondered if expert eyes could tell me whether it's worth it...

It's had a recent survey that shows that it's been rather neglected but the sellers have already made many of the improvements recommended (including a brand new wood burner).

One concern is that some areas of the hull are 4.2mm - so would need some welding. I've heard mixed things about Springers too - so not sure if that kind of hull work is worth it? And another is that the engine is old and might not be ideal for continuous cruising.

Should we get over the heartbreak and look elsewhere or could a bit of love sort her out? Layout-wise she's ideal and all the cosmetic stuff we're happy to fix. Any opinions or recommendations gratefully received!

This is her listing: http://www.apolloduck.co.uk/feature.phtml?id=471769

Kim

If it needs renovating as well as being 1986, the price is far too high. However pretty inside - the vendors have added a london weighting there of about 10k

Others will have other comments I'm sure. But nowt wrong with Springers in principle.

Ah good news on Springers in general, I just read a couple of comments that made me wonder but also many who are on them and love them! The thinnest steel is actually 4.0mm - so that may need to be done when it's next blacked.

I think the sellers would be quite open to realistic offers...