Setting up my electrics for the first time, some questions - Electricty Audit

meerlaan

Featured Posts

Hi everyone,

I have just moved onto a canal boat and am looking to update my electrics and install some solar panels. I am a newbie so really appreciate any advice you can give. I have been attempting to do an electrical audit (using a template I found online)

Firstly I wonder if someone could have a look over it and see if I have made any glaringly obvious mistakes?? I have done my best but I must admit I do find the electrics a little confusing !!

I am continually cruising and my boat is 57x10

I am looking at installing:
- 3x 260w or 305w solar panels (with the plan to add a fourth in the future)
- 2x 40A MPPT controllers
- Victron Multiplus Inverter/ Charger
- A monitor of some kind recommendations apreciated!

I will also have a Honda EU20i generator to top things up.

The questions which I am struggling to find answers to online are...

What is a good size battery bank to match this system? I have been told it's important not to go too big as it means lots of time spent trying to charge them up. Not to mention the expense.

Is it a good idea to get a multiplus inverter and charger or a separate inverter and charger?

I am thinking about purchasing a washer dryer which will need 2.1kw to run (not shown on audit) would it be acceptable / advisable to run this of my setup while the generator is running? So the batteries / inverter would only need to supply the extra bit of energy as the Honda is only rated at 1600w continuous.

Is there any other major bit to the system I am missing. My understanding is Batteries / Inverter / Charger / MPPT Controllers / Solar Panels / System monitor. Do I need fuses or any other bits?

Thanks in advace for your time.

Look forward to hearing your opinions. (Please be gentle I am new and still figuring it all out)

Martin