2 locks

the barnacle

Featured Posts

Lock 58 on the T&M. Part of the flight of 26 locks over 7 or 8 miles known as The Cheshire Locks. Some call them Heartbreak Hill because the locks are often spaced just too far apart for the lock wheeler to walk. I've never found them a heartbreak and passing through that particular lock gives me much satisfaction at the slow pace we are travelling. Many of the locks on the flight were doubled to increase traffic capacity. Some of the doubles have fallen into disrepair and become abandoned.

When was the last abandonment? I've been cruising that flight since 2008 and I don't think one has closed since then.

might have know you would get something good in, when did you photoshop that house in then icecream.gif .oh, and back out again...

Here you go Matty, I've "photoshopped" in the original road bridge between middle and bottom locks:

Edited by Ray T

Its not just their being duplicated to save time, they also used to have a paddle in between the two chambers, in situations where one lock is full and the other empty, the paddle could have been opened as a water saving measure. They are all disused/removed/blocked up now though.

When CRT did one of their lock tours at a lock under repair, I did suggest if they had volunteer lockkeepers could they reintroduce this - the guy looked at me like I was from the planet Zorg.

When was the last abandonment of a paired lock? I've been cruising that flight since 2008 and I don't think one has closed in that time.

Not sure if they actually repaired it but the lock under the macc had orange tape around it for months.

Its not just their being duplicated to save time, they also used to have a paddle in between the two chambers, in situations where one lock is full and the other empty, the paddle could have been opened as a water saving measure. They are all disused/removed/blocked up now though.