Alde motor issues

Odana

Featured Posts

We have an Alde boiler on our temporary borrowed boat, and one on the new boat we're about to pick up. On both boats the boiler seems to work fine, but doesn't circulate any water. It seems the little motor at the top needs to be working - it isn't moving on either machine so while the boiler heats up the rads don't.

Is there something we're meant to be doing, or are they both broken? We are not Alde-trained, preferring to rely on the fire. But it would be nice to know what's going on and fix it in case we DO need em! On the new boat there's a thermostat - we have adjusted this with seller, but it doesn't seem to make a difference (he last used it in the spring as a rare use, so can't tell us much more)

If we do need new motors, is this a simple and cheap thing (the unit seems to lift out of the tank easily) and where is best to get such items?

Mmm i have limited experience of alde boilers, but i've seen an off switch on the thermostat supplied by alde, you could try that, also some boilers are modded so you can use a cylinder thermostat only, ie in the summer. If perhaps your plugged into a shoreline with an immersion heater in the tank, then the alde tank thermostat might never switch the circulation pump on?

My boiler had a thermostat override switch added so i could switch between room and cylinder thermostats or cylinder only.

Only a guess though

Our Alde has a circulation on/off switch which is by the bed. If I want the rads hot then I click the switch over. And the motor starts up, the hot water goes round and the rads heat up! So somewhere on the boat there will be a circulation switch methinks.