Winterising a boat

Greybeard

Featured Posts

Hi

I'm still very new to this so I've still got loads of questions to ask and advice to seek.

Not that we've had a particularly warm summer but this will be my first winter having a boat.

How do I 'winterise' it ?

The cars sitting on the drive have been sorted by the garage but where do I start with a boat?

Water tanks need draining, heating bleeding and of course the engine coolant ??????

How do I stop it becomming a giant ice box ?

Condensation????

I'm not live aboard but can get to the boat in 10 minutes if the traffic is bad so I can start the engine etc whenever I need to.

It's on a marina supply and has an electric radiator on board.

Any tips from some of the more experienced boaters would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Assuming the boat will not be lived aboard;

Check engine coolant, if not obvious then drain and replace anti-freeze mix.

grease exposed linkages

grease battery main terminals, isolate engine battery

grease stern gland

charge batteries to full charge and give them a charge once a month

do whatever you need to make sure bilge pump is working automatically or that you visit the boat to check the bilge water level especially in periods of heavy rain

light application of WD40 to vulnerable electrics (main control panel esp if outside)

grease all door hinges

drain down hot water heaters and leave drain plugs out

drain down central heating (or calorifier) or make sure indirect heating water has anti-freeze component

if possible close main water tank stopcock and pump out remaining water, leave all taps open, turn off water pump

remove all rottable food and rat treats

remove plants

leave all cupboards open for flow of air

leave fridge door open

remove as much textile as possible or store hanging in free air

make sure ventilators are unobstructed

put inside the boat boat poles and any roof equipment that will suffer being left out

turn off gas